Elliot Smith’s Ghost 


I dreamt Elliott Smith visited my room or his ghost came to see me and he played a new song. I scribbled down the lyrics on a paper that I found under my nightstand. 
“She had 2nd degree rope burns 

For all her ties that have bound 

Singing Nico in shower 

Such a sad sweet simple sound 

We were drinking on the roof tops

Summer weather, Such a swelter

Silent lanterns light the night 

Playing cards that other dealt her 

Ashtray fills with whispered thoughts 

Starting fires with stolen lighters 

Smoke detectors chirped us awake

Extinguishing feelings like firefighters 

Morning wake up late for nothing 

Mattress matters of torn lovers 

Sweaty radiator popcorn popping

Salty skin exposed, no covers”

Leave a Reply

