Goodbye Song 


She played the devil
When I thought I was god 

We tempted each other with scars 
In old brick towers

We rested our sins 

Like prisoners without any bars
She spoke like a song

I played like a fiddle 

The radiator banged like a drum 
We tasted the iron

From each other’s tongues 

We bled there until we went numb
In the soft morning 

We spouted harsh words 

The rain on a wedding day 
In burned out cathedrals

Our confessions were heard

Though we’d long forgot how to pray
She asked if love was forever

I told her to live for today

We both forgot to comply
So when the darkness came

I locked the door behind me 

I didn’t wake her to say goodbye
 

Leave a Reply

